Certified Enterprise Data Management (EDM) Associate

Whether you are new to capability and performance improvement, or already serving as a subject matter expert on DMM-based project teams, the DMM Associate Certification can get your career on the right path or take it to the next level. For more details, please see the FAQs for this item here.


Just as the Data Management Maturity (DMM) model provides guidance for improving your organization's data management capability, the Data Management Maturity (DMM) Associate certification showcases your ability to serve as a highly effective contributor to data management success. By earning the DMM Associate certification, you will:

  • Confirm your commitment to organizational improvement
  • Prove that you are ready to help power a data management improvement team
  • Demonstrate your foundational understanding of enterprise data management principles, best practices, and benefits 

This certification reflects your readiness to use key DMM process areas including data management strategy, data governance, data quality, data operations, and data architecture.

Getting Certified

Becoming a Certified DMM Associate involves a number of steps along the path to certification. Click to expand each of the steps below to see the details.

If you have any questions about the certification process, please email certification-info@cmmiinstitute.com.

  Step 1: Complete a Prerequisite DMM Training Course

  Step 2: Prepare for the DMM Associate Exam

The DMM Associate Exam is designed to test your knowledge and understanding of the Data Management Maturity (DMM)SM Model.

Before taking the exam, you must become familiar with the DMM model by taking either the Building Enterprise Data Management Capabilities elearning or public/on-site training course.

You may choose to download the Quick Reference Guides to review in advance of the exam and use while taking the online, open-book exam.

Quick Reference Guide 

  Step 3: Take the DMM Associate Exam

The 60-question, 90-minute online examination based on the slides in the training is composed of multiple choice, true/false, and multiple select questions. It is open book and may be taken at home or work.

Registration is available via American Express, MasterCard, and Visa. 

The DMM Associate Exam fee is $300.

You may choose to register for the bundle, for a fee of $995. The bundle includes:

  Step 4: Receive Your Certification

<p>If you pass the DMM Associate Exam, your certification will be granted. You will receive a certification diploma and your name will be listed on the online DMM Associate Directory.</p>

  Step 5: Renew Your Certification

Certified DMM Associates must re-take the certification exam every three years to ensure that they are educated on the latest DMM best practices.

Helpful Info

CMMI Institute Certifications have a number of steps with detailed requirements along the way. This list is intended to be a helpful place to find the forms and fees connected with each step of the your certification journey.

Please see the “Getting Certified” tab for all of the Certification details.

Certification Step Applicable Fees

Building Enterprise Data Management Capabilities elearning course
Create a new account or log into your existing account in the CMMI Institute Online Training Center to register.


Building Enterprise Data Management Capabilities public or on-site training

$750 (elearning)

$3,000 (public)

On-site training costs may vary

Quick Reference Guide  
DMM Associate Exam $300
Purchase the bundle for x% discount
Building Enterprise Data Management Capabilities elearning course DMM Associate Exam, DMM Model

Getting Started

In order to achieve this certification, you must be sponsored by a CMMI Institute Partner organization.

Become a Partner

Learn More

Sponsorship Form




CMMI® Institute helps organizations discover the true value they can deliver by building capability in their people, process and technology. Learn More

101 Countries Organizations use CMMI to elevate performance in 101 countries.
  • Colombia
  • US
  • UK
  • Bulgaria
  • Qatar
  • Kenya
  • South Africa
  • China
  • Malaysia
  • Vietnam
  • Thailand
11 National Governments 11 governments invest in CMMI to support economic development in their countries.
  • Chinese, Simplified
  • Chinese, Traditional
  • Arabic
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
  • Korean
10 Languages CMMI models have been translated into 10 languages.